European Union Trade Marks

The European Union Trade Mark Regulation provides for registration of European Union Trade Marks (EUTMs). These have effect throughout the countries of the European Union. EUTM registrations sit alongside national trade mark registrations in each of the countries they cover and confer the same rights as national trade mark registrations. 

This unitary character can raise a problem where during registration, an EUTM meets a ground for refusal in one particular country of the EU (for example, a word which is descriptive or offensive in one particular language) will prevent the registration of the whole EUTM. In this situation, the EUTM may undergo ‘conversion’ into equivalent national registrations retaining the original priority. An EUTM application or registration can be used as the basic mark for an international application filed directly at the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO).

The cost of filing and prosecuting an EUTM through to registration is much less expensive than seeking individual national protection where protection is desired in several member states of the EU.

Member States of the European Union

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Total (28 States)


© 2019 Wilson Gunn